Sun Oracle F80 800GB PCIe Flash Accelerator 7069200 - Fixing Incorrect Drive Capacity

Preface

I am by no means an expert at this. I just happened to be able to get mine working by following guides available and with the help of folks on the discord (Thanks @Xodus [US] and @Arex [US]). Post a reply if you see any issues with my guide or if you have any additional information that could help people that come across this problem in the future.

Introduction

Earlier this month (September 2020), a batch of Sun Oracle F80 cards were purchased on ebay and when installed, displayed the individual drives as 2.6TB instead of 200GB. These drives could not be formatted through traditional methods. While troubleshooting, we came across this guide by Kenneth Kasilag for flashing the card into IR mode: https://www.kasilag.me/warpdrive/. This process involves changing device IDs in the SBR, extracting LSI controller firmware from the Seagate Nytro firmware, and then flashing both pieces of the firmware.

By following this guide we were able to get our cards into IR mode, but some of us were now showing a single drive of 1.6TB instead of 800GB. We were able to resolve this by formatting in ddcli with over provisioning. Sometimes it took a few attempts at formatting (with different over provisioning settings) to get the drive to show as 800GB.

We were then able to get the cards back into (working) IT mode by following the exact same process, but this time splitting the IT mode firmware (ELP-4x200-4d-n_13.05.11.01.bin). We didn’t need to modify the device IDs this time, since we already had a backup of the original SBR with correct device IDs.

This guide will outline the entire process in Unraid, however it should be pretty much the same in any OS (you just might need different versions of the tools).

Prep

• Install Python3 with the Nerd Tools plugin in Unraid