NAS Killer 5.0 (My Build - Complete)

I completed this build in July but have not had a chance to write anything down until now

I have been running UNRAID since 2012 but heading in to this year my original build (AMD Sempron, 4GB RAM, 8TB storage) was beginning to struggle. Having added a few more dockers, moving to Plex and accumulating higher-quality media, it was beginning to show its limitations. Fortunately the first lockdown gave me plenty of extra time to begin researching. As a first step, I migrated Plex to an HP290 but knew I still needed to enhance my UNRAID server.

My use case includes storage, media download automation, security cameras and home automation. Low-power and noise was also desired. VMs and remote gaming are not part of my needs. I am the primary user and there is very little family use.

Originally I was debating between a NAS Killer 4.0 (to meet my needs) or an Anniversary 2.0 (to well-exceed but cover anything I may decide I “need” down the road). Ultimately I decided to jump one generation ahead of the NAS Killer 4.0, thinking the NAS Killer 5.0 would be launching soon.

Being Canadian, it can also be challenging to get the same deals available to the US members but I did my best to be patient and jump on items as they came available. It took over a month of various orders and another month of shipping for everything to come together.

Parts (all prices were CAD, shipped)

Unfortunately I only took 1 picture while putting it all together. I think this was taken while flashing the HBA card.

This is the system today:

Things I learned

1. Working with 12 drives in a consumer-level tower case is tight! You also need to really think through which cables attach where.
  2. I did the 3.3v mod to the SATA power splitter and shortened the splitter cables at the same time. I got it backwards the first time but worked great after that.