Need advice building my first home server/Nas

Hey folks, I need some advice and recommendation for my home server.

I couldn’t find a single good build that is cheap or off the shelve.

My base requirements:

• Bulk disk storage with good redundancy.

• Ability to run Plex with 4k transcoding.

• Be able to run docker. I use influxdb, grafana, openhab, unifi etc…

• Power usage at idle.

• Surveillance station.

• Noise level. I cannot have a big vacuum running at all times inside the house.

• Spend maximum of 600$ excluding the disks.

Nice to have:

• 10Gbs NIC with M.2 caching

• Being able to have my pfsense running on the same box.

Now I would like to run separate hardware for all the requirements but at home setting I’m more worried about electricity and heat generated by all of the hardware. This is why I like one box does all approach.

Solutions:

Off the shelve hardware. Mainly I like Synology and I have been running xpenology for two years using an optiplex 777(10 year old dual core) with a single drive. This thing consuming 100W at idle and going to fail any day. However this allowed me to run docker, plex and surveillance station for some time.

I was eyeing on Synology ds918+

Pros

• Simple

• Satisfies most of my requirements.

Cons

• No room for expansion.

• No 10gbs

• No point of using m.2 ports. (ie without a 10gbs nics)

• Expensive for what you get out of it.

Second solution is to have a freeNas build. I never used freeNas before but I heard lot of good things about it.

I came up with this after some research:

• Supermicro-X10SDV-4C-TLN4F 400$

• IN WIN IW-MS04-01-S265 case 140$

• Corsair - Vengeance LPX 32 GB (2 x 16 GB) DDR4-2133 Memory 130$

Total 668$

Pros

• Higher performance

• Good storage redundancy and reliability.

• Customizability

• 10Gbs Nic and 4 network ports.

• Possibility of virtualizing pfsense

• m.2 ports

Cons

• Older generation CPU.