I need help Choosing the Right Parts for a NAS Build

Hey Guys! :smiling_face_with_three_hearts:

I am completely new to building servers and could really use some help putting together a NAS for my home network. Basically, I want a rock-solid system to store and stream all my media (movies, music, shows, the whole shebang) and back up important files. Here’s the lowdown on what I am looking for:

• I hoping for around 20TB of usable space, with some room to grow in the future.
  • My budget is around $1000, but I’m flexible if something’s really worth it.
  • Primarily for media streaming with Plex, regular file storage, and backups.
  • I’m a total newbie, but I’m a quick learner and willing to tackle a challenge.

I’ve been doing some research on building a NAS, and let me tell you, there’s a crazy amount of info out there on processors, motherboards, and RAID setups. Honestly, it’s all a bit mind-boggling!
I also check this guide: https://forums.serverbuilds.net/t/guide-750-20-core-40-thread-amd-ryzen-threasnowflakedripper-killer-aka-thread-runner-lower-cost-configs-startin But I have not found any solution.
Anyone out there have suggestion for a solid build that fits my needs? Any advice on specific parts or configurations would be a huge win.

Thanks! :innocent:

A great place to start would be the NK 6.0 Build Guide

LGA 1151 (8th / 9th gen) is currently the sweet spot in terms of price / performance; at least if you are buying used and located in the US.

For a CPU I would probably go with an i3 (8100, 8300, 9100, 9300) Those are the least expensive for the socket, but they still offer plenty of performance for most home server NAS use cases, will trancode for Plex / Jellyfin just as well as the more expensive CPUs on the socket, and even have ECC support depending on the motherboard.

If you need a little more performance and don’t care about ECC you can go with an i5 for only slightly more cost.