Why is software RAID "Fake RAID" really that bad?

Just a forewarning; I am new to servers, though , have four towers in my house just to learn with . If I had the spare time , I would really like to test out software RAID , to see for myself its limitations . I am really just considering it for a failover secondary server and potentially for a home LAB . I would not consider using RAID one in a production primary server environment . The idea is: I will be deploying WIndows Server 2016 with just HyperV role , the HyperV role server is installed on the RAID 1 array and the VMS on a RAID 10 . I will then have one server replicated to another , in case of failure .

While technically it is possible to buy dedicated RAID cards for all the servers I have . Some of the spare raid cards only support up to 4 connections, while I can replacement RAID cards , I have considered saving a few coins and use the Fake Software Raid . though this thought process is ’ Frowned upon ’ in many, many threads - just how bad is it ?

I mean , if its just for a back up server , why do I need true RAID on more than one volume . For example , if I deployed a Hyper V replication server , the second server has software raid for the host , the first has true RAID (Raid 1 for Host and Raid 10 for VMS on both servers)

Some of the things I noted , correct me if I am wrong

• I understand that software raid creates extra work , and needs resources from CPU/RAM but , just how much are we talking where it is considered a burden ?

• I understand that a RAID rebuild could take longer but, how much longer in comparison to True RAID ?

• I understand that there is no Hotswapping with software RAID but , how often would you really need to hotswap ?

• I suspect that Software RAID may not be able to be migrated to other hardware ; e.g When motherboard dies , moving it to another controller .

What other limitations am I missing here ?