What NAS would you build with unlimited budget?

I’m planning to build 3 rack mounted servers: a dedicated NAS, an app server (Plex, home automation, etc), and a gaming/home theater computer. My primary goals are stability and performance. I don’t have budget constraints, within reason (say ~$30k max for all three). I have lots of experience building desktop/gaming PCs, but I’m new to servers and especially NAS.

I started by looking at ready-made NAS options. Synology is the usual recommendation. Looking for higher tier options I found Storinator. Cost efficiency isn’t a primary goal so that is an option, but building my own NAS is much more fun. I hope to match or exceed Storinator.

Next I found this site, so here I am! I have lots more research to do, but maybe you can point me in some good directions given my specific needs? A lot of content tends to be more budget conscious then I’d like. While I don’t want to waste money, I don’t want to cut corners to save a buck. I’m reading through the builds. NAS Killer 5.0 seems to be the latest guide.

For the NAS, ~30TB would be fine, with some room to expand in the future. 8-10 bays is probably sufficient. I don’t need hot swap. Since stability is crucial, I’m considering server CPU, motherboard, ECC RAM. I could even copy the Storinator hardware (on the Specifications tab): Intel Xeon Silver 4110 (or AMD EPYC 7281), SuperMicro X11SPL. I’m guessing dual CPUs would be a waste for my small NAS? Other components: 850W PSU, 10Gbe NIC.

The rack mount case is important. Rosewill looks OK, but maybe there are better options? Super Micro looks good, though they have so many offerings it’s difficult to choose. What other brands should I look at? I’d like good cooling. Servers are in a dedicated (and ventilated) room so moderate noise is OK, but I still don’t see any point to using eg 80mm fans.