SAS Question For New User

This is my first build with SAS ports and so I purchased a Supermicro CSE-836BE16-R920B 3U Server Chassis so it has a BPN-SAS2-836EL1 backplate. I am looking to connect 16 hard drives eventually and was planning on getting 2 of the HP H220 6Gbps SAS PCI-E 3.0 HBA LSI 9207-8i P20. Is this acceptable and what cables would be needed?

It’s probably better long term to pickup one HBA and one expander.

Expander will give you 24x drives from one HBA rather than the usual 8x.

Per your post it actually is coming with a SAS expander backplane: BPN-SAS2-836EL1
You’ll only need one HBA to manage the backplane. This is a great backplane chassis combo as you don’t burn a motherboard slot (HPE expander) and don’t have to try and tuck a non-slot card into the chassis somewhere (intel RESv).

You may want to wait until you receive the unit to see what cables it comes with before selecting an HBA.

Why you ask? Would you post a link to the unit you purchased?

I’m guessing eBay and that TechyParts is the seller. They have two units currently listed. One appears to be shipping with MINI-SAS (SFF-8087) backplane cables and the other appears to be shipping with MINI-SAS HD (SFF-8643). One unit also appears to come with 2 Hot/Swap bays underneath the power supply which is handy if you are into the hot swap thing or want to maximize chassis real estate.

The H220 comes with SFF-8087 connectors. Controllers based on the LSI 3008 tend to come with SFF-8643 connectors, they;re a bit more expensive but they are also SAS3 (12Gbps). the LSI 3008 controllers may perform better with SSD’s than the H220 but the H220 is definitely better with SSD’s than a 9211 based controller.

All that said if the unit comes with the SFF-8643 cable connectors you can always replace the backplane to HBA cables if you want to use the H220.

I’m also curious what motherboard you have selected for this build?