Rackmount case with external hot-swap solution?

Hello newbie here.
I’m looking for a rackmount case for a NK build, but the one with hotswap bays are pricey. I don’t suppose there’s a way to use an external hot-swap solution (some sort of enclosure/stacker) that would allow me to snake cables into the case and the SATA/SAS headers?

Thanks!
joe

Do you need hotswap? Many of us don’t use it because it’s significantly more expensive.

When a drive dies, it’s a good time to shut down your server, clean it, check connections, etc.

Ok good point. In what way is it more expensive? The drive? The interface? Mobo? So I don’t need it at all (though used to it from synology). What I need the most is an easy way to replace a drive without opening the case–just slap some sort of bracket and rail in and slide it back in and then rebuild array.

So I see they make ‘raid cages’ like this:

Would I be able to just leave this outside of my cheaper rackmount case (that probably wont fit this) and snake the romex and sata cables into the case?

1. How are you going to power it if it’s going to be external?

2. If the specs are correct it’s pretty slow speeds at 1.5Gb/s.

3. You can find that elsewhere cheaper if in the USA

Edit: You could do a “Pico power supply” instead of trying to fish power out of a rackmount case. For the Data your options would be to use a Raid card w/external outputs or eSata expansion for a cheaper option.

I guess my biggest issue is the 2.5" hdd’s you aren’t going to be installing a heck of a lot of storage volume so I guess I’m not seeing the point of doing it at all.

Thanks for the input.

Was going to run the power connectors outside as well.
I was worried that eSata was old and slow.
Yeah I guess I’m not saying I would use this exact one, but one like this.
So my requirements are:

1. Would like a cheap (4U?) rackmount case.
  2. Would like to be able to change drives without opening the case (