Question about off site backups

I’m extremely new to all of this (I’m reading through some of the build guides now but haven’t built anything at all yet) and have a question about off-site backups.

Goal: home server that I can use for file storage and basic (1080p) plex streaming

Current system: cobbled-together desktop with around 8tb of total storage

Target system: something like NAS killer 4, possibly using parts like those recommended in the current “Array Starter Kit” group buy

Complicating factor: I use Backblaze personal for off-site backup since they have a very reasonably priced “unlimited” backup plan. I would like to continue to use them. However, their client is Windows-only.

My initial plan was to just follow one of the guides and have it run Windows. I don’t love that option but it seemed like the easiest approach. While reading here, I found a lot of people using unraid. Would it be reasonable to run unraid with a small always-on Windows VM that just performs my backups for me? Is there any strong reason to pick one over the other? My client machines are all on the same local network and are a mixture of Windows and Macs.

Overall my goal is to make this reliable and simple to use. I’m not looking to spend a fortune but do not need the absolute cheapest build possible either.

Thanks for any thoughts!

You won’t be able to backup the NAS with backblaze personal.

I will if I run the backblaze client on the server itself, right? As far as backblaze client is concerned it’s just a computer.

You think you’re the first person in the history of Backblaze to try it? I am certain you are not going to see the results you want.

No, I do not. That is why I am asking about this. I had hoped that someone with experience could share some of their knowledge.