Partial Server Build - Need Help with SAS

I’ve been building PC’s for about 30 years now, but I’m a complete noob when it comes to enterprise. I’ve been building an Unraid server to replace my aging QNAP server. The new server will be used as a media server and various usenet services (like Radarr, Sonarr, nzbGet, etc.). My Plex Server is in a HP-290. This is my build so far.

• Case: Supermicro CSE-846 (24 hot-swap HDD bays)
  • Backplane: BPN-SAS2-846EL1
  • Motherboard: Supermicro X10DRH-CLN4
  • CPU: 2x Xeon E5-2670 v3 (12 Core, 2.3 Ghz)
  • RAM: 32 GB DDR4 ECC 2400 Mhz

The motherboard includes LSI 3008 SAS3 Controller. The board has has 2 mini-SAS ports that can connect to a total of 8 drives.

I’m out of my depth, but I think I need a cable or cables from the motherboard to a HBA expander. And then from the expander to the backplane. The backplane has 2 cables coming off of it - I think it’s a 8087 to 8087 - hopefully visible in the picture I uploaded since I’ve never used SAS connectors before.

I’d like help with which HBA card or expander cards I need, and which cables I’ll need to connect everything. Thanks.

The SAS header onboard is SFF-8643, which is newer than SFF-8087. Out of curiosity, how did you land on an x10 board? Due to cost, we don’t yet recommend it, and it isn’t mentioned in any of our guides. Unless you got a very comparable deal, I would return it in favor of an x9 board or similar and v1 or v2 CPUs to save some money. Performance won’t be noticeably better for the extra cost. Check the Snafu guide for examples on recommended 2011 boards and CPUs.

That aside, you’ll need two (2) SFF-8643 to SFF-8087 adapter cables to connect your backplane to the x10 board you have now. You’ll also need to flash the correct IT mode firmware to the LSI3008 SAS controller onboard.

1 Like

ALANMAN, thank you for your help!