New NAS/Plex/Docker server substitute

Dear all,

I have only just recently discovered this forum but am absolutely amazed at the amount of quality content accumulated here. I would start by thanking you all for sharing.

Obviously then I could not pretend to build a NAS/Plex server substitute without your approval.

I have been running a QNAP TS-251 (8Gb RAM) for the last 5 years with 2x4TB HDDs (now stripped and backed up to a 10Tb HDD). It works as a NAS, Plex Server, Nextcloud server, Pi-hole (LXC) and docker host managed through Portainer (torrent-VPN, *arr stack, kanboard, vaultwarden,… to name a few).
It has been doing everything I want with adequate speed, I would say.

It now has a faulty fan (70mm cant find a replacement) and overall has just got more noisy overall.

Looking into a new, more energy efficient and silent system.
Right now I have almost 0 need to transcode but that is a possibility in the future, so just went with Intel.

Somebody here recently suggested https://perfectmediaserver.com/ as a starting point for software stack and I really like the idea of MergeFS+SnapRAID - would love to hear your comments on this.

I plan on running my 2x4Tb as a single volume and then have it mirrored in my 10Tb HDD.
I was hoping that a 512Gb M2 NVME could allow me to run everything from the M2 (will put my 20Gb Nextcloud documents+photos there) and so have the HDDs suspend most of the time - would this be possible/feasible most of the time? Should I have an SSD as cache?

I don’t expect to change my use case so soon, but would like to possibly try out VMs in the near future so thought that for the price difference a Pentium would be helpful vs Celeron.

Finally, I should say I am in the European Union and mostly just jealous of the prices you have in the United States (retail or second hand). These were the cheapest prices I could get after searching several of the businesses that I have available to me.