NAS K4.0/OTiS First Time Builder - Please provide feedback

Hi all,

as the title implies I’m new to the NAS/Server side of things. I’m looking to replace my NAS/Plex box that failed during my recent move (WD PR4100). I’ve built my own pc’s before, but never anything along these lines, I’m also new to linux/UNRAID, but happy to learn. From reading through the forums and posts I came up with the following and would like feedback on if it would fit my use case and all the parts compatible or if you would recommend alternatives.

Use case:
I want everything to be able to fit into 1 tower case or multiple small form factor options that can hide in a largish TV/Entertainment stand, I have the Fractal Design Define R5 currently and it seems like a good option.

• NAS storage - movies, photos, misc files, and documents. Room to grow here I have 6-10 TB of data currently (maybe less with some current drive failures).
  • Plex - 5+ 1080P transcoded streams. Most users will be offsite, as will I during work travels when quarantine is lifted. Any 4K will be direct and only within my home separated from others.
  • Cloud - cloud access nextcloud sometime in the near future, for me and family.
  • Minecraft Realm - I’d like to experiment with hosting a minecraft realm with my new server.
  • VM - maybe 1-2 for other recommended things or for me to learn (as I’m new).

I’m willing to put a little more time, effort, money into things now to make sure the system runs smoothly, and continuously with few to no issues outside of operator error aka me.

This is what I have put together and jumping on the NAS starter Array, pricing through amazon etc as a worst-case scenario. I will look at eBay and evga b sales etc.

Part Details Price Notes
Case/Chasis Fractal Designs - Define R5 (Swapping from my gaming PC) $0.00 Replacing R5 w/meshify C for gaming PC
case parts Additional HDD Cages $0.00 working out plan currently on WTB channel
CPU Intel i5-9400 $149.99