🎅 Ho ho ho Newcomer seeking guidance

Ho ho ho everyone :santa:

I’ve recently discovered this community of passionate and enthusiasts builders and the timings for me could not be better as I’m soon moving to a new home (it’s two home in fact). As an intersting note for sourcing hardware, I’m living in Europe :eu:.

I’ve some experience with unify hardware as I currently embraced the whole unify package with CCTV, router, switch and access point, I’ve also some (basic) knowledge in wiring and building a network bay.

Currently in the process of gathering as much information as I can, I’m planing on building a new home lab with:

• a new custom Network Area Storage
  • a new CCTV system relying on Shinobi
  • a homeassistant install for inteligent home

I plan to separate CCTV hardware from NAS and have it on a hardware dedicated to the shinobi system (not a beast, but just enough to have motion detection working without issue for 10+ cameras). I still don’t know much about the hardware requirements, the streams would be saved to the “to-be-made” NAS.

Speaking about the NAS itself, I would like to have enough storage for CCTV, hosting my homeassistant install and being able to connect the Zigbee or other component through USB. It would run 24/7, probably on unraid as suggested in many of the others threads.

I don’t have a budget (yet) in mind, I’m more about buying the right components and take my time to source them rather than having all ready within a week or two.

Thank you for welcoming me to this community !

Hi guys !

After a lot of thinking, compiling resources and doing research on the second hand market, amazon and Ebay, I’ve set up a plan to build a more powerful nas than I initially anticipated.