Help setting up Adaptec 71605

This is my first time setting up any kind of external RAID card so please bear with me and my questions. I have the card installed in a x16 slot on my ASRock B654M Pro4 MOBO. From what I have read on here when booting up the system I need to do a ctrl-A to get into some sort of config menu but as no point in booting up my Ubuntu setup am I seeing a crtl-A prompt showing up. I also read someplace about doing a ctrl-C but again outside of my normal boot to BIOS and boot options I am not seeing these prompts.

Once loaded into Ubuntu I ran the command lspci but I am not seeing the 71605 card listed in there. Does this mean that the card is not being seen by the system or is it not showing up because I have not enabled some function within the card? The card does have power for the led lights on the card are lite up. I looked in my BIOS to see if I could see the card there but I am not seeing it anyplace but then I could not be looking in the correct location either for as I mentioned at the start this is my first install of a controller card.

Well this is interesting. I updated the BIOS version to the latest version and then once that was done and my system rebooted I had an alarm go off. It was a constant buzz almost sounding like a smoke detector going off. From what I have researched this alarm is an over temperature alarm? I do have a 40mm fan zip tied to the heat sink with it blow out. I shutdown the system for about 10 mins and then booted it back up without the alarm going off.

Once booted into the Ubuntu OS when I ran the lspci this time I was able to see the card installed.

It appears that MaxView written about in the documentation of my controller card does not support the latest version of Ubuntu. How is everyone else setting up this controller in Ubuntu or is everyone pretty much using UnRAID?

Can you add some pics of what the physical setup looks like?