First build with X10SL7-F

Hey there,

Thanks for the site and all of the great advice on getting things going. I’m currently running a couple of drives off a SBC with Open Media Vault, a couple of more on a 2-Bay Seagate NAS and two SBC media streamers. I’m a first time NAS builder here hoping to consolidate this mess and get a media and storage server going for home and external use. So far I’m using:

Supermicro X10SL-7 board
Xeon 1230 v3 cpu
32 GB of RAM
Fractal Design D5 chassis
Seasonic SSR-650FM PSU
8 HDD SATA drives in pairs of 12TB, 10TB, 8TB and 5TB
USB stick for OS

I followed the video you posted to update the MOBO bios so thank you for that. I used the IMPI webUI to update IMPI firmware. I’d like to complete the updates before I start assembly and I have few questions about how I should proceed.

The LSI 2803 onboard controller is flashed with SAS9207-8i, FW 20.00.07.00-IT. I downloaded “9500_8i_Pkg_P22_MIXED_FW_BIOS_UEFI” from Broadcom. Should I be updating the LSI 2803 to this P22 version?

I’ve downloaded the latest BIOS and firmware for the Aspeed AST2400 BMC, but I don’t know how to find out the version that is currently installed or how to update that. Based on an Asrock web page it looks as though I can update Aspeed bios and firmware through the IMPI Maintenance tab. Does anyone have ideas about updating FW and BIOS for the Aspeed BMC on this Supermicro board?

The SAS2 uses SATA ports on this board so I guess this means I’m limited to SATA drives for these ports?

I’m planning to run Open Media Vault with Snapraid off a thumb drive which was suggested in the OMV forums. It was also suggested to use a separate drive for docker apps, media server and other apps. Does it make sense to use one of the storage drives for the apps or should I be using a separate drive? I noticed the builds also include a cache drive, but I’m uncertain if this is something I would need for my build too.