First Build - NK 6 Questions

I’m looking to build my first NAS and will likely follow the NK 6 guide. I had a couple of questions:

1. I noticed the CPUs didn’t have any Xeon/ECC-supported recommended options. If I wanted to go with the upgrade motherboard, (Supermicro X11SCA-F ATX), are there any good recs for an ECC-capable CPU to pair with it?

2. Is (1) a dumb question? Should I stick with one of the recommended CPUs for the potential option of QSV in the future (not something I see a need for atm, but I’m a noob and don’t know what I don’t know).

3. I already have a 12u rack to support my DL360 g9 for other projects. Is there a decent rack-mounted case with reasonable power draw so I can keep everything together on the rack?

Thanks! This site is so great

You probably don’t need ECC
You can probably get away with a cheaper board too

What do you want the server to do for you?

Cases don’t draw power. The system does.

Hi and welcome to Serverbuilds!

Which CPUs Support ECC

To answer your question directly any Xeon, Core i3, Celeron, or Pentium from Intels 8th / 9th gen will support ECC so long as they are on a motherboard with a C246 Chipset like the Supermicro X11SCA.

If you are sure you want ECC you will probably want to go with an i3 like the i3-8100, i3-9100, i3-8300, or i3-9300 unless you need more compute and more cores in which case you will need a Xeon which tend to be very expensive in the 8th / 9th Gen Coffee Lake flavor.

Do you need ECC

You probably don’t need ECC for your home media server; and this is coming from someone who really likes ECC. I would certainly consider it a Nice-to-Have but given how expensive C246 motherboards, ECC RAM, and Xeons are its probably not worth the cost. You will save a lot by just getting a consumer motherboard, regular RAM, and an i3 or i5 CPU.