[Build Complete] NK4 to NK6 Upgrade with Dell Precision 3630 board

I’ve been running a NK4 adjacent build since late 2020 with an assortment of HDDs from BitDeals or others and then Rhino Drives. Here are some pics of my NK4 before I started.

I recently “upgraded” my daily driver from a Dell Optiplex 9020 Mid Tower to a Precision 3630 last winter before the NK6 Guide came out (I am a sucker for university surplus equipment.) For that build I was somewhat surprised that the newer Precision was actually LESS proprietary than the old Optiplex as it uses a 24-pin ATX power connector and appeared to have microATX hole alignments.

I hadn’t been planning an upgrade to the NK6 but then I saw a LAST ONE! eBay notification for a bare 3630 board for $35 and I foolishly had an offer accepted for $31 and then started assembling the remaining parts:

Part Model Price (each) Source
Case Cooler Master Storm Sniper (2011) $40-60? FBM (NK4 Build)
PSU Corsair TX750 V2 750w Bronze - FBM (included with CM case)
Motherboard Dell Precision 3630 Tower Motherboard IPCFL-TB P/N 0NNNCT $31 eBay
CPU Intel i5-8600 SR3X0 $50 eBay
Memory 2x 16GB UDIMM DDR4 3200MHz $25 eBay
CPU Cooler Thermalright Assassin X120 Refined SE CPU Air Cooler $19.39 Amazon (from NK6 Guide)
HBA LSI SAS 9211-8i cheap BitDeals (NK4 Build)
HDD 6x 3TB SAS/SATA $20ish? BitDeals and others (NK4 Build)
HDD 3x 8TB SAS Sun and IBM Seagate $50-55 Rhino Tech (NK4 Build)
Monitor Adapter Displayport to HDMI Adapter $5.99 Amazon
Fan Hub Cable Matters PC Case PWM Fan Hub (PC Fan Hub) 1-to-5 Way PC Fan Connector Adapter with 16-Inch Fan Cable $6.99 Amazon
Fans ARCTIC P12 PWM PST (5 Pack) $30.99 Amazon (NK4 Build)
eBay 3630 board Listing Photos

Build Photos

The first CPU I’ve ordered that cost enough to have a clamshell included. lol

Partial Rule #0 observance

Old motherboard out and moving standoffs

Front Panel Pinout Detail
F Panel Detail