Basic IT Certification Study Tips for Career Changers

Quite a few people on Discord have been discussing switching careers to IT. I was able to make the jump last year quite successfully by getting a few certifications and tailoring my Resume and Cover Letter to detail my server/home lab experience.

I am going to detail a few tips and resources for how I studied for those certifications and made the jump. My ultimate goal is to get into the DFIR (Digital Forensics and Incident Response )space of cybersecurity, so everything for me is leading up to that; Your chosen path is probably different, so once past the basics the methods and process will change.

Prior to moving into IT, I worked for about a decade in the bicycle industry, culminating in a job managing the demo program for a high end mountain bike manufacturer. This is how I started:

AZ-900

• I started with the AZ-900 Azure Fundamentals Certification. My reason for taking this was wanting to give myself a leg up for organizations who heavily use Azure.
  • I do not know if I would recommend taking this, most of what I use on a day to day basis can be learned pretty quickly by reading the Microsoft Docs, but being able to talk about it during interviews didn’t hurt.
  • I studied using a course on Udemy that has apparently been taken down.
  • The test was $100

A+

• This is a 2 part test, both tests are a maximum of 90 questions, a mix of multiple choice and performance based, and scored out of 900. The first test requires a 675 to pass and the second requires a 700.
  • Test #1: I studied using this course, it can be bought for $12-19 usually. I then took these practice exams, again a cost of $14-20 is usually available.
  • Test #2: I changed it up and studied using these videos for free. I then used these practice exams ($14-20)