Advantech for pfSense

ordered one of these for a pfSense build at my shop. The seller took my offer and now I just need to figure out what case I’m going to use. I may just throw it in one of my boomer uatx mid-towers from back in the day for now.

Don’t know anything about the board or the manufacturer other than it’s another “industrial board”…it’s a bit limited on ram but I’ve got a couple sticks of ddr3 so-dimms that I think are 4gb which should work pretty well for this build.

The board alone I’m not sure it’s all that great of a buy but factor in dual nics, low watt cpu, and a stick of ram to get me going…it’s not that bad with the offer the seller accepted.

I’ll need to pick up a ssd. I’ve never used usb flash drive(s) before on a pfSense build…not sure about the write endurance going that route.

Well one thing you could consider is going with something like this instead of a case

PC Open Frame Test Bench ITX ATX Mini ITX MATX EATX Motherboard Transparent Acrylic Overlock Computer Case DIY Mod Base Stand

I’m going to be putting it in harms way in my shop where employees tend to throw stuff around without much regard otherwise I might would consider something like that.

I’ll probably spring for one of those little cube cases

Why not just pickup an hp290 and a 2 or 4 port intel nic? You can get it all done for about $150 or so.

Examples

https://www.ebay.com/itm/HP-290-p0043w-Slim-Celeron-G4900-3-1GHz-4GB-RAM-500GB-HDD-Win-10-Home-Black/113384273741

This is what several folks including myself and @JDM_WAAAT run our pfsense on.

Here is a great resource on the HP box:

Those HP’s are pretty nice deal but…well I’m committed to this other thing now.

use that hardware for something else, or just sell it. I am pretty sure your the only one forcing yourself to move sub optimally. Those HP boxes will save you on your power bill in a big way compared to what you are looking at.